CoveredWeight

GLP-1 coverage explorer

8 GLP-1 products, 51 Medicaid programs and 21 quarters of federal payment data, in one table you can pivot. Pick a jurisdiction to see what its program actually paid for, sort by volume or by licence, and read the trend for each product beside the current figure.

By the Covered Weight editorial team · Updated Aug 8, 2026. Research and sourcing by Evan Reid.

products
8products
jurisdictions
51jurisdictions
quarters
21quarters
Narrow to

Showing 8 of 8 products

GLP-1 products compared against what Medi-Cal paid for in 2026Q1
DrugMoleculeApproved forPrescriptions2026Q1Per thousand enrolledcomparableProgram paid2026Q1, before rebatesPer prescriptionderivedSourceTrend2021Q1 to 2026Q1
Ozempic®Novo Nordisk A/Ssemaglutidesubcutaneous injectiontype 2 diabetes, cardiovascular risk205,731Count18.4$198,095,326$963State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Mounjaro®Eli Lilly and Companytirzepatidesubcutaneous injectiontype 2 diabetes117,016Count10.5$122,991,035$1051State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Wegovy®Novo Nordisk A/Ssemaglutidesubcutaneous injectionweight, cardiovascular riskat least 64,112At least · 16 of 21 rows5.7at least $83,506,483$1303approximateState Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Zepbound®Eli Lilly and Companytirzepatidesubcutaneous injectionweight, sleep apnea62,420Count5.6$65,538,392$1050State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Rybelsus®Novo Nordisk A/Ssemaglutideoral tablettype 2 diabetes19,699Count1.8$29,566,793$1501State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Victoza®Novo Nordisk A/Sliraglutidesubcutaneous injection · generic existstype 2 diabetes, cardiovascular risk2,255Count0.2$1,417,399$629State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
liraglutide (generic)authorized genericliraglutideroute not statedno indication published for the genericat least 1,545At least · 14 of 22 rows0.1at least $478,181$310approximateState Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
Saxenda®Novo Nordisk A/Sliraglutidesubcutaneous injection · generic existsweight380Count0.0$459,904$1210State Drug Utilization Data 2026Read 2026-08-11
What Count, At least, Withheld and No row each mean
Count
Every matching reporting cell was published, so this is the number of paid prescriptions.
At least
At least one reporting cell was withheld for being too small to publish, so the true number is higher than this one.
Withheld
Rows exist and every one was withheld for being too small to publish. That is not a zero, and it is not an answer about coverage.
No row
The federal file carries no row for this product in this quarter. That is not a zero, and it is not an answer about coverage.

What the California marketplace benchmark says

A different payer class, on the same page for comparison. The benchmark is the reference a marketplace plan is measured against; it is not the Medi-Cal rule above.

  • bariatric surgery: covered
  • weight loss programs: covered
  • nutritional counseling: excluded
  • anti obesity medication: not published

Every figure here is published with its source document, its section and a verbatim quote on the California comparison page, which needs no scripting. This tool shows no cross-jurisdiction total on purpose: withheld cells make any sum a floor rather than a total. Every figure links to its own query against the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services State Drug Utilization Data file, published quarterly.

How to read what the tool shows

A figure marked at least is a floor. The federal file suppresses any count too small to publish, so where part of a product's total was withheld the real number is higher than the one shown. A row reading withheld means prescriptions were paid for and the count is not disclosed, which is not the same as a zero and not the same as no row, where the program reported nothing for that quarter at all.

The trend line breaks rather than bridging a withheld quarter. Drawing a slope across a gap would assert a direction the data does not support.

Common questions

Where do these numbers come from?

The federal State Drug Utilization Data file, which every state Medicaid program reports into each quarter. This tool reads a projection of the same records the jurisdiction pages publish, and a build check fails if the two ever disagree.

Why is there no national total?

Because the file withholds any count too small to publish. Adding jurisdictions together across withheld cells produces a floor, not a total, and printing it as a total would invent a number the data does not contain. Trends are shown per jurisdiction for the same reason.

Does a paid prescription mean the program covers the drug?

No. A paid claim records what happened in a past quarter. The rule that decides the next request is a separate document, and a program can pay a claim one quarter and exclude the product the next. Where this site has read the published rule, the jurisdiction page quotes it.

Does this work without JavaScript?

This tool does not, and every figure in it is also published on a page that does. The comparison pages carry each figure with its source document, its section and a verbatim quote, and they need no scripting at all.